Who will win FIFA World Cup Golden Glove 2022? Top goalkeepers include Argentina’s Martinez, Morocco’s Bounou and Croatia’s Livakovic

by admin

The final week of the 2022 World Cup includes a string of individual battles alongside the race for team glory in Qatar.

Kylian Mbappe is currently leading the Golden Boot race, ahead Lionel Messi and strike partner Olivier Giroud, as the PSG superstar looks to edge out his club and international teammates.

However, despite the huge attention on Mbappe, the battle at the other end of the pitch is equally fascinating, as part of the Golden Glove showdown.

All four keepers involved semifinal action are in the running to win the award, with Argentina’s Emiliano Martinez going through to the final after victory against Croatia and their stopper Dominik Livakovic, while France skipper Hugo Lloris is up against Morocco’s Yassine Bounou in the second semifinal.

What is the World Cup Golden Glove award?

The Golden Glove award is a relatively new feature of the World Cup, in comparison to the Golden Boot, with FIFA officially including ahead of the 1994 World Cup.

The award was originally named the Lev Yashin Award, in recognition of the legendary former Soviet Union goalkeeper, between 1994 and 2006.

The first award was scooped up by Belgium Michel Preud’homme (1994) before being won by Fabian Barthez (1998), Oliver Kahn (2002) and Gianluigi Buffon (2006).


How is the World Cup Golden Glove awarded?

Whilst the primary measure for the Golden Boot is the number of goals scored by a player, the Golden Glove is decided by FIFA’s technical committee.

Domestic Golden Gloves are awarded based on the number of clean sheets kept by a goalkeeper, but the World Cup criteria examines other areas too, including penalty shootout saves and overall contribution.

Does a Golden Glove equal World Cup glory?

Based on the seven World Cup Golden Glove awards given out since 1994, four recipients have also won the tournament, in a personal and team double accolade.

Barthez and Buffon clinched glory in 1998 and 2006 respectively, before the pattern was followed by Spain’s Iker Casillas in 2010 and Germany captain Manuel Neuer in 2014.

Who will win the World Cup 2022 Golden Glove?

The four goalkeepers in last four action appear certain to be the shortlist for the 2022 award with Martinez and Livakovic ever present for Argentina and Croatia.

Dominik Livakovic – Croatia

Livakovic has been thrust into the spotlight following some huge performances in Qatar with one goal conceded from three group stage matches.

You may also like

Leave a Comment